HARAMBEE Starlets With One Foot In 2019 AWCON


Harambee Starlets PHOTO: goal.com

Harambee Starlets
PHOTO: goal.com

HARAMBEE Starlets have one foot firmly stamped on the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations stage after shining brighter over visiting Equatorial Guinea in the first leg staged at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos.

Teresa Engesha hit a brace in either half to help the home side pick the much-needed victory ahead of the return leg set for next week in Equatorial Guinea.

The Vihiga Queens striker scored an equalizer in the 41st minute to cancel out the visitors’ lead.

Equatorial Guinea took the lead through Jade Sayo in the 39th minute, but Engesha chopped off the advantage two minutes later before completing the job with six minutes left on the clock to the final whistle.

Equatorial Guinea’s trip to Kenya was marred by controversy ahead of the kickoff after the visiting side fielded Jacky Mossomo Annette and Dorine Nina Chuigoue whose eligibility is questionable.

The duo are naturalized Equatorial Guineans born in Cameroon, same as Blessing Nanbugwuo is a naturalized Equatorial Guinean of Nigeria decent.

Besides the raging debate whether the trio have passed Fifa rules require a player to ‘have been born in a country, or has his/her parents or grandparents be born there, or must have lived in that country for more than five years to qualify to represent it’s national team’ still in doubt; Equatorial Guinea also risk missing the 2019 World Cup after they were banned by Fifa for fielding 10 ineligible players besides using forged documents.

The second leg set to be played on June 9, 2018, at the Estadio Nkoantoma de Bata in Equatorial Guinea’s port city of Bata with the aggregate winner booking a place in the 2019 Awcon to be staged in Cameroon.

Kenya Starting XI: Poline Atieno (GK), Wendy Achieng (C), Lilian Adera, Dorcas Sikobe, Elizabeth Ambogo, Cheris Avilia, Sheryll Angachi, Corazone Aquino, Neddy Atieno, Mwanahalima Adam, Teresa Engesha.

Equatorial Guinea Starting XI: Lucrecia Boabaila (GK, Genoveva Anonman (C), Dorine Nina Chuigoue, Noah Salome Ghyslaine, Laetitia Chapeh Yimga, Jacky Mossomo Annette, Celestina Manga Besecu, Cecilia Akeng Nengono, Esperanza Mbang Mba, Jade Boho Sayo, Gloria Chinasa Okoro.

CREDIT: goal.com

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *